CANON OF ST PATRICK’S CATHEDRAL Article written by Lynn Glanville, the Diocesan Communications Officer

Members of Dublin and Glendalough Diocesan Synods have elected the Revd Gillian Wharton to be their representative Canon on the chapter of St Patrick’s Cathedral, Dublin. Ms Wharton was elected to the Prebendary of Dunlavin in the National Cathedral on Tuesday 7 March 2017 at a special meeting of the diocesan synod in the Church of St John the Baptist in Clontarf.

 The Rector of Booterstown and Carysfort with Mount Merrion succeeds Canon Horace McKinley who was elevated to Canon Treasurer in the Chapter earlier this year having occupied the stall for 26 years. Ms Wharton is also a Clerical Honorary Secretary of the General Synod of the Church of Ireland.

 Dublin and Glendalough and Cashel, Ferns and Ossory are the only two dioceses in the Church of Ireland who continue the practice of electing their diocesan Canon, while all other dioceses have passed the right of appointment to their bishop. Lay and clerical members of the diocesan synods are entitled to nominate and vote and all licenced clergy in the dioceses are eligible to be nominated.

 Approximately 180 members of synods attended the special meeting and there was sustained applause when Archbishop Michael Jackson announced the result of the election. He congratulated the Canon–elect and wished her well in her new role. Ms Wharton was also congratulated by the Dean of St Patrick’s, the Very Revd William Morton.

Ms Wharton has been Rector of Booterstown and Carysfort with Mount Merrion since 2004. Prior to that she was chaplain to Rathdown School for four and a half years. From 1996 to 2000 she was part time Curate of the Leixlip Union and part time Diocesan Youth Officer. She was Curate of Glenageary from 1993 to 1996.

Currently she is Honorary Clerical Vicar at Christ Church Cathedral. She is a member of General Synod, Standing Committee, the General Synod Board of Education and Diocesan Councils of Dublin and Glendalough among others.  She was appointed Clerical Honorary Secretary of General Synod in March 2014.

Once installed in the Chapter of St Patrick’s Cathedral she will occupy the same prebendal stall as Jonathan Swift who was Prebendary of Dunlavin from 1700 to 1713 when he was appointed Dean.