Our Parishes

The Parishes of Booterstown and Carysfort with Mount Merrion strive to be a caring Christian community, where people feel accepted, and that they belong, and where they have the opportunity to experience God’s love, and to grow in their relationship with him.  Our hope is that when people come to either of our churches, that they feel that they are a part of our parish family.

In our services and the activities that go on in our parishes and in our parish school, we want people to feel valued and cherished, to have self-esteem and self-worth, as precious individuals who are loved by God.

We are a Church of Ireland (ireland.anglican.org) group of parishes in the Diocese of Dublin and Glendalough, (dublin.anglican.org), and part of the Anglican Communion which is a world-wide family churches with a shared understanding of sacraments and ministry.

The Parish of Booterstown and Carysfort borders the east side of the N11 (better known as the Stillorgan Dual Carriage-way) and goes down to the coast, and includes the village of Blackrock.   The parish church for Booterstown and Carysfort is dedicated to Saint Philip and Saint James and is situated on Cross Avenue between Booterstown and Blackrock.

Mount Merrion Parish runs along west side of the N11 and includes UCD campus in its area.  Saint Thomas’s Church is the little church at the bottom of Fosters Avenue, and is well-known for its catchy signs – Wayside Pulpit – which we hope will inspire people as they pass by.

Since 1994, the two parishes have been grouped together with one Rector looking after both.  Our current rector is the Rev. Gillian Wharton and she has been Rector of both parishes since October 2004.

In the summer of 2009, the Rev. Suzanne Harris, the Chaplain of Newpark School, joined as a non-stipendiary assistant clergyperson.

In addition to the two parishes, the clergy also provide chaplaincy care to the Blackrock Clinic and the Blackrock Hospice, both of which are situated in our parishes.


Rector – The Rev. Canon Gillian Wharton

Assistant Priest – The Rev. Suzanne Harris


Select Vestries

The fabric, furnishings and finance of each parish are looked after by their respective Select Vestry, each of which consists of parishioners who are either elected or appointed, at the Easter General Vestry, for a year’s term of office.  Each Select Vestry elects a Treasurer and a Secretary.


Booterstown and Carysfort Select Vestry 2018-2019

Rector’s Churchwarden: Eoghan Sadlier

People’s Churchwarden: Alan Robinson

Rector’s Glebewarden: Gordon Richards

People’s Glebewarden: Justin O’Callaghan


Select Vestry: Viola Brady, June Burgess, Lynne Cole, Mike Hayes, Deirdre Kennedy, Jill Lacey, Stephanie Morris, Barbara Plant (Hon. Sec.), Denise Richards, Quentin Teggin (Hon. Treas.), Alan Wiseman.


Mount Merrion Select Vestry 2018-2019

Rector’s Churchwarden: Clair Wallace

People’s Churchwarden: Judy Donlon

People’s Glebewarden: Denis Beare


Select Vestry: Meriel Armstrong, Patricia Bedlow, Sheila Chamberlain, Aideen Hartney (Hon. Sec.), John Hudson, Alan McGurdy, Audrey McNab, Mike McWilliam, Myrtle McWiliam, Ian Mullen (Hon. Treas.), Damian Phelan, William Robertson.


Other Church Office Holders

Every three years, the respective Easter General Vestries elect Diocesan Synodpersons to represent the parishes at Diocesan Synod, and Parochial Nominators whose responsibility it is to choose a new Incumbent (Rector) should the need arise.

The following were elected in 2017 to serve for three years (up to the Easter General Vestry of 2020).


Parochial Nominators:

Mount Merrion— Denis Beare and Sheila Chamberlain

Booterstown and Carysfort— Quentin Teggin and June Burgess


Supplemental Parochial Nominators:

Mount Merrion— Philip Bagnall and Joan Sherlock-Robertson

Booterstown and Carysfort— Mike Hayes and Barbara Plant


Diocesan Synodspersons:

Mount Merrion— Michael McWilliam

Booterstown and Carysfort— Quentin Teggin and Stephanie Morris


Supplemental Diocesan Synodspersons:

Mount Merrion— William Robertson

Booterstown and Carysfort— Marcus Daly and Deirdre Kennedy